What Affects Sexuality?

I have been pondering this question for the last few days and to be honest I still haven’t come up with a definitive answer. I mean for starters there is the age-old debate of nature vs. nurture and this part I am sure on; it is a combination of the two that determine one’s sexuality. However, with that said I believe that sexuality is fluid.

The best way to understand my thinking of this is via Alfred Kinsey who came up with the Kinsey scale. The scale also known as the Heterosexual-Homosexual Rating Scale is a scale of sexuality which ranges from 0 – 6; 0 being completely heterosexual and 6 being completely homosexual and another addition of ‘x’ indicates non-sexual behaviour. According to Kinsey numbers 1 – 5 indicate bisexuality. Well, in light of this scale I am bisexual. I would put myself at number 1 or 2. Bisexuality is something that I have thought about a lot more so before I came-out but on the whole I identify as a lesbian whilst also acknowledging that sexuality is fluid. I don’t believe that attraction is limited to one gender.

Michael Storms in 1980 proposed a two-dimensional chart with an X and Y axis which also included asexuality. Fritz Klein put forward his idea of the Klein Sexual Orientation Grid. This most important aspect of the grid is that it includes factors on how sexual orientation can change throughout a person’s lifetime which includes emotional and social orientation. These are only 3 of more than 200 scales to measure sexual orientation.

So going back to the main question, what affects sexuality? Is it nature or nurture? Or both? I also wonder to what extent that sexual abuse at a young age affects one’s sexuality. What do you think? Where would you place yourself on the Kinsey scale?

Leave a Reply

