Activism vs. Cultural/Traditional Family

My mum rang me today asking me when I was coming home for Easter as she misses me. Bless her. After a brief conversation she brought up my elections video and asked why I had come-out in it. I replied by saying it was for my Student’s Union elections and she knows what my views are on human rights and fighting discrimination. Normally during a conversation like this I would try and change the subject or apologise to some degree. This time however, after the fantastic weekend I had I felt so empowered to actually stand my ground and explain my actions. She found it somewhat difficult but I explained to her my reasoning and logic and whilst I know she heard and understood my explanation and I don’t think she particularly comfortable with it.

I Tweeted about my mum discovering my video which also uploaded on Facebook and I had a wonderful wave of support from my friends voicing their encouragement for me to stand my ground and hold my head up high. One of my friends talked about how brave I was and the sheer amount of work I had done and my understanding of people. She continued in saying that I should remember what I stand for and what I believe in. She also went on to say that I am a strong person and that’s evident in what I do and who I am. What she said actually brought me to tears and without sounding too big headed it’s not the first time someone has said similar things to me. The amount of support and encouragement I receive is far greater than criticism and judgement. When people share with me their stories of how I helped them whether it be even in the smallest way of liberating them for their fears or sometimes even the greatest way of quite literally saving their lives gives me a massive reality check if I am having any doubts because even me just being visible as a queer Muslim empowers others.

These realisations fit perfectly with a quote by Maryanne Williamson:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us most.

We ask oursleves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

 

Leave a Reply

