Ramadan Mubarak

I’m super tired while writing this so apologies in advance for this stream of consciousness…

I seem to be a bit late to the game but it’s still the first day of Ramadan and so posting this at any time during the day wouldn’t have been late really, would it? Anyway. 

I want to take a moment to wish Muslims all over the world a happy Ramadan. One which is full of contemplation, love, respect and understanding for those less fortunate than ourselves. After all, that’s one of the main reasons as to why we fast during the month of Ramadan. Compassion, charity and love. I feel like that sums it up pretty well, I think. I’ve missed out the whole praying and dedication to Allah but I’m sure you get where I’m coming from.

I’ve spent most of today in bed recuperating from a meeting I’ve been to in France over the last few days. I think subconsciously I also needed to prepare for the week-long conference next week in Italy as I will be fasting and looking at the weather forecast, it’s hot there! I was genuinely considering whether or not I should fast when I’m away.

Here were my reasons:

  • It’s gonna be hot… Hotter than what I’m used to living in the UK!
  • Conferences are long and tiring and require a certain amount of energy especially being around so many people
  • Above all though, I didn’t want to miss out on copious amounts of Italian food – that was genuinely one of my reasons… For real…

From this short list you can just see how selfish I was being. I mean, I was considering not fasting because I wanted food! Albeit lovely Italian food but still! Now that I’ve gotten a grip on my reality again I can proudly and confidently say I’m gonna be fasting Italy inshallah. If it get’s too much for me in terms of the heat and stuff, well, that’s something I’ll deal with if the time comes.

I look forward to Ramadan every year but this year, it’s very much needed and couldn’t have come at a better time! I’ve been going through some intense emotional relationship related stuff and to say it’s been difficult is an understatement. I’m increasingly realising that I need to work on myself.

Here are my goals for Ramadan this year:

  • Work on my strengthening my relationship with Allah and my faith.
  • Try and make as many taraweeh prayers as I can.
  • Make a solid effort to learn how to pray salah properly… As in the sequence. I know the basics, just not the variable sequence for each of the 5 daily prayers.
  • Re-start my effort in reading the Qur’an in English in its entirety for the first time.
  • Take a break from romantic encounters for the foreseeable future.
  • Really work on my self-care (I’m pretty rubbish at this but have been doing better recently thanks to the wonderful suggestions my friends gave me via Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Maryam.B.Din/posts/10154276801440252)
  • Do more around the house to take more of the caring responsibilities away from my beautiful mum.
  • Spend more time with my awesome sister even if that means playing boring computer games with her… 

So that’s my list so far. I feel like it’s probably something I’m gonna be updating as the month continues.

What are you goals for this month?

Leave a Reply

